top of page

Find of a Lifetime!


In May of 2014, I made the best find of my relic hunting lifetime. I've made a ton of great finds in my time, but none as Historically significant. Hunting a plantation site in Charleston, SC we were in a area where we actually hoping for some Revolutionary War relics. Each of us had dug a few things...flat buttons, British copper, other miscellaneous brass stuff. We had made the decision to head to our next site, so we had given ourselves the 15 more minutes call. Me and Russ kept digging, and Austin actually headed back to the truck to wait on us. I got one last deep signal under a root. So, I started working at getting to the target. Finally, it's out of the hole...poking around with my Garrett pinpointer, I found the target...dang...a piece of scrap brass. I did notice a hole in it, and upon closer inspection, I saw the stamped registration number at the bottom...WOW! I knew EXACTLY what I had... 1847 Charleston Slave Tag - Occupation: Porter


bottom of page